Polish Briefing 5 July, 2019 9:00 am   
Editorial staff

Polish Briefing: Jerzy Buzek will lead the European Energy Forum again

What goes on in Poland on the 5th of July.

Jerzy Buzek became the chairman of the European Energy Forum again

Jerzy Buzek will lead the European Energy Forum (EEF) in the European Parliament for the next five-year term. Key MEPs and representatives of the European Commission, Member States, the energy sector and energy-intensive industries take part in its work.

After the election, Jerzy Buzek said: “I thank my fellow Members for the trust that will allow me to continue the mandate of the chairman. The role and importance of EEF is constantly growing – along with the entire Energy Union. In the previous term, we adopted many necessary legal solutions: from the Clean Energy Package and the energy and climate goals for 2030 through the regulation on the security of gas supply – important in the event of energy crises – to the amendment of the Gas Directive, including EU law, inter alia the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline. In the new EP legislature, we must ensure that all these provisions are efficiently and fully implemented. This is a great task for us. ”

Buzek stressed that the Forum focuses on issues particularly important for Poland: “We are ahead of work related to the EU’s energy and climate strategy until 2050, the development of renewable energy and prosumer energy, the fight against smog and energy poverty, and ensuring a fair transformation of mining regions . All these are key issues not only for the Polish power industry or the economy and jobs – they also concern the health and comfort of our citizens’ lives. These will be my priorities as chairman for the next five years. ” The European Energy Forum brings together MEPs – as members – and over 80 companies and institutions as associate members. From Poland, these include: PGNiG, the Polish Electricity Association, Orlen, Enea and CEEP.

We know the composition of the ITRE committee

Members of the European Parliament approved on Wednesday afternoon the size of all Parliament committees and sub-committees. Their composition was confirmed by political groups on Wednesday evening. The second largest in the EP is the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE). The Committee on Industry, Research and Energy will be composed of 72 MEPs. This is therefore the second largest committee of the European Parliament.

Poland will be represented in the committee by its chairman in the previous EP term of office Jerzy Buzek, Izabela Kloc, Łukasz Kuhot, Zdzisław Krasnodębski and Grzegorz Tobiszowski. The list of deputies of ITRE included six MEPs from Poland: Marek Balt, Adam Jarubas, Elżbieta Kruk, Janusz Lewandowski, Jacek Saryusz-Wolski and Róża Thun.

The Chairman and vice-president of ITRE will be elected at the constitutional committee meetings. The ITRE commission’s inaugural meeting is scheduled to take place on 10 July.